Gendron Up For Nat’l Coach of Year

UMaine Coach Is 'Spencer Penrose' Finalist

University of Maine hockey coach Red Gendron has been named a finalist for the ‘Spencer Penrose Award’ for top coach in Division I hockey in the nation.

Gendron is one of eight finalists for the award. The winner will be announced April 7th.

The Black Bears finished with an 18-11-5 overall record including a 13-1-3 record at Alfond Arena.

Gendron is the only Hockey East Conference coach on the list of finalists.

2019-2020 AHCA Men’s Ice Hockey Spencer Penrose Award Finalists
(CCM/AHCA Division I Coach of the Year)

Brad Berry, North Dakota, NCHC Coach of the Year/Pairwise Top 4
Red Gendron, Maine, HE Coach of the Year
Mike Hastings, Minnesota State, Pairwise Top 4
Eric Lang, AIC, Atlantic Hockey Coach of the Year
Bob Motzko, Minnesota, Big Ten
Greg Powers, Arizona State University, Pairwise Qualifier
Scott Sandelin, Minnesota-Duluth, Pairwise Top 4
Mike Schafer, Cornell, ECAC Hockey Coach of the Year/Pairwise Top 4
Tom Serratore, Bemidji State, WCHA Coach of the Year

NOTE: Only two UMaine coaches have won the Spencer Penrose Award – Shawn Walsh (1995) and Tim Whitehead (2002).

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *