Houlton 11-12 All-stars to play in Maine State Tournament


The Houlton 11-12-year-old All-stars captured the District 3 Little League baseball title last Friday with a 13-1 victory over Brewer/Orrington.

The Houlton All-stars went through the District 3 Little League Tournament undefeated.

Houlton took a 4-0 lead on run-scoring singles by Silas Graham, Garrett Harvey, Kurtis Reynolds and Brock Thompson.

Brewer/Orrington had its only run of the game in the bottom of the first when Gavin Carr singled and scored on Nick Chaffe’s base hit.

Leading 4-1, Collin Moody added a run on a sacrifice fly in the fourth; and then the Houlton bats broke the game open in the fifth, highlighted by Graham and Harvey each picking up RBI singles and Reynolds belting a two-run homer.

Reynolds finished the game with a homerun and two singles while Moody, Graham and Thompson each had two singles and added two RBIs.

Harvey was the winning pitcher as he allowed just three hits and a walk, while striking out six.

Cameron Lagassie also singled for Brewer/Orrington.

“I thought we played our best overall game yet against Brewer/Orrington Friday night,” said coach Montie Graham.

Houlton had beat Brewer/Orrington 18-8 in Houlton, forcing them to play Bangor East for the right to meet them in the final.

It’s Houlton’s first District 3 championship since 1976 and will play the state tourney in Orrington next weekend. The Maine State Tournament is double elimination and features the top six teams in the state.

“I think if we can play the way we are capable of then we can play with any of those teams,” said Graham. “But, this is new territory for all of us so that remains to be seen. We have four solid pitchers, which should work to our advantage in a tournament where we could be playing at the least every other day.”

The Houlton All-stars received a first-round bye and will play their opening game at 1 p.m. Sunday, July 24 against the winner of a Saturday contest between the District 2 champ (Oceanside or Medomak Valley) and the District 4 champ, Biddeford, which is also the defending state champions.

Playing in the state tournament are Houlton, Biddeford, Ellsworth, Lewiston, Scarborough and the District 2 winner Oceanside or Medomak Valley.

Members of the Houlton team include Collin Moody, Jed Gilpatrick, Cody Johnston, Caleb Tuttle, Logan Tapley, Kurtis Reynolds, Silas Graham, Braden Dow, Garrett Harvey, Brock Thompson, Haven Hanning, Nolan Hodgkins. Head coach is Montie Graham, with assistant coaches Chad Thompson and P.J. Harvey.

District 3

Double elimination

Monday, June 27

Brewer/Orrington 2, Bangor East 1

Hermon 19, Lincoln 4

Bronco 12, Holbrook 6

Tuesday, June 28

Houlton 10, Sebasticook Valley 5

Katahdin Valley 6, Millinocket 5

Wednesday, June 29

Brewer/Orrington 6, Glenburn 2

Bangor West 4, Hermon 3

Thursday, June 30

Old Town 10, Katahdin Valley 0

Holbrook 8, Sebasticook Valley 6

Hermon 22, Millinocket 1

Friday, July 1

Houlton 4, Bronco 2

Wednesday, July 6

Bangor East 15, Bronco 5

Lincoln 13, Katahdin Valley 11

Holbrook 4, Glenburn 2

Thursday, July 7

Brewer/Orrington 9, Bangor West 2

Houlton 4, Old Town 3

Friday, July 8

Hermon 5, Holbrook 5

Bangor East 18, Lincoln 4

Monday, July 11

Houlton 18, Brewer/Orrington 8

Hermon 3, Old Town 2

Bangor East 11, Bangor West 10

Tuesday, July 12

Bangor East 16, Hermon 5

Wednesday, July 13

Brewer/Orrington 12, Bangor East 3

Friday, July 15

Houlton 3, Brewer/Orrington 1, Houlton advances to state tournament


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *