Local students recognized at 12th annual Aroostook League Scholar/Athlete Banquet

The 12th annual Aroostook League Scholar/Athlete Banquet was held on Monday, April 12 via a Zoom meeting. 

The Aroostook League member schools are invited to bring one girl and one boy Scholar/Athlete to attend the Award Night along with a faculty member – athletic administrator or coach.

Due to CIVID 19 protocol, the banquet was canceled in favor of a program held via Zoom which included an introduction from the host, Evan Graves, Athletic Director at Caribou High School, guest speaker Bill Green of “Bill Green’s Maine” television series and a drawing held to select ten students – 5 girls and 5 boys – who will receive a $400 award for their college education expenses at the start of the second semester of their freshman year in college.

Bill Green congratulated all the Scholar/Athletes on their successful high school careers and wished them well in their future goals.  He gave a very interesting talk on many of his experiences “selling the State of Maine” to those from other areas who had no idea of how great the State of Maine is.  He closed his remarks by telling the students to remember their roots and to thank all those who have helped them on their way to be successful during their school years and beyond.

At the first banquet held in 2010, the Aroostook League made two $200 awards to a girl and a boy.

Over the years the Aroostook League has been able to increase the number of students receiving the award through proceeds from the Senior All-Star Boys and Girls Basketball Game and the Maine Dance Academy performing at half time of the games, member schools assessment and a surcharge from television/radio coverage of high school basketball games.

The following Scholar/Athletes represented their high schools:  Ashland:  Willow Hall, Alden Routhier;  Caribou:  Edie Shea, Malachai Willey;  Central Aroostook:  Libby Grass, Malachi Fitzherbert;  Easton:  Savanna Guess, Mitchell Flewelling;  Fort Fairfield:  Brenna Levasseur, Kobe West;  Fort Kent:  Lacy Pelletier, Samuel Albert;  GHCA:  Joel Carmichael;  Hodgdon:  Mikyla Howland, Elijah Matheson; Houlton:  Sidney Peabody, Drew Foley;  Katahdin:  Hannah Boone, Bradley Hotham;  Madawaska:  Emma Pelletier, Justin Pelletier;  MSSM:  Lydian Frost, Connor St. Peter;  Presque Isle:  Meg Casavant, Jude Mosher;  Southern Aroostook:  Paige Vose, Jacob Brooks;  Van Buren:  Abby Ayotte, Emmanuel Deschaine;  Washburn:  Kyli Farley, Aiden Churchill;  Wisdom:  Emma Chamberland;  Woodland:  Mya Gallant, Kobe Overlook.

The Student/Athletes drawn to receive the 2021 $400 award to be used for their second semester were introduced by their school Athletic Administrator who gave a summary of their achievements during their high school careers and which college/university they were enrolled in next fall.   

The Scholar/Athletes selected by the draw were:  Caribou:  Edie Shea;  Easton:  Mitchell Flewelling;  Fort Fairfield:  Brenna Levasseur;  Fort Kent:  Lacy Pelletier, Samuel Albert;  GHCA:  Joel Carmichael;  Madawaska:  Emma Pelletier, Justin Pelletier;  Washburn:  Aiden Churchill;  Woodland:  Maya Gallant




Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *