Swayman, Gendron Up For Major Awards

Hockey East Award Finalists

UMaine goalie Jeremy Swayman and UMaine coach Red Gendron are finalists for Hockey East major awards – Player of the Year and Coach of the Year.

Because of the COVID-19 situation, the league cancelled its championship tournament. The NCAA has cancelled its championship tournament and so it’s time for the league awards. Winners will be announced next Thursday, March 19th.

HOCKEY EAST PLAYER OF THE YEAR FINALISTS: UMaine Junior Goalie Jeremy Swayman, Providence Sophomore Forward Jack Dugan, UMass Junior Forward John Leonard

HOCKEY EAST COACH OF THE YEAR FINALISTS: UMaine Coach Red Gendron, UConn Coach Mike Kavanaugh, Boston College Coach Jerry York

NOTE:  Past Player of the Year Award winners from UMaine include Spencer Abbott, Chris Imes, Scott Pellerin, Paul Kariya and Mike McHugh.

The late Shawn Walsh is the only UMaine Coach of the Year Award winner. He won the award four times.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *