Swayman Is Hobey Baker Finalist

UMaine Goalie One of Three Finalists

The race for the 2020 Hobey Baker Award is now down to three players and UMaine goalie Jeremy Swayman is one of them.

The award goes to the top college hockey player in Division I hockey.

Swayman is the lone goalie on the so called ‘Hobey Hat Trick’ list of three finalists. University of North Dakota forward Jordan Kawaguchi and University of Minnesota defenseman Scott Perunovich are the other two finalists.

Swayman was the busiest goalie in the nation during the 2019-20 season, facing more shots and making more saves than any other goalie. He save percentage was second best in the country at .939%. Swayman’s goals against average was 2.07.

The native of Alaska is giving up his senior year of eligibility and has signed a pro contract with the Boston Bruins who drafted him in the 4th round.

Swayman has already won Hockey East Player of the Year, the Walter Brown Award for top american born college hockey player in New England and is a finalist for the Mike Richter Award which goes to the top goalie in the nation.

NOTES: The 40th Hobey Baker Award winner announcement is April 11th and the award will be part of ESPN SportsCenter show at 11pm…Two UMaine hockey players have won the Hobey Baker Award, Scott Pellerin (1992) and Paul Kariya (1993).

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *