Swayman Wins Mike Richter Award

UMaine Goalie Named Nation's Top Goalie

UMaine goalie Jeremy Swayman has been selected as the top college hockey in the nation, winning the 7th annual Mike Richter Award.

The award is named for fomer University of Wisconsin and then NHL goalie Mike Richter.

The announcement came Saturday night on ESPN SportsCenter instead of the annual awards banquet because of the coronavirus situation.

Swayman was also one of three finalists for the Hobey Baker Award (top player in college hockey) but that honor went to Minnesota-Duluth defenseman Scott Perunovich.

After turning in an 18-11-5 season and posting a 2.07 GAA, the junior Swayman signed a pro contract with the Boston Bruins and will forego is senior year at UMaine. He was a 4th round draft pick of the B’s back in 2017.

The Richter Award gets added to the postseason honors for Swayman that includes Hockey East Player of the Year, the Walter Brown Award for best U.S. born player in New England and First Team All-American.

NOTE: Past winners include: 2019 Cayden Primeau (Northeastern), 2018 Cale Morris (Notre Dame), 2017 Tanner Jaillet (Denver), 2016 Thatcher Demko (Boston College), 2015 Zane McIntyre (North Dakota), 2014 Connor Hellebuyck (UMass-Lowell).

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *